Social learning is a powerful way to engage students and that is why Flipgrid defaults videos to be visible for all participants of the Grid! Flipgrid also understands some discussions require privacy.
To default videos to be hidden and only visible to the educator, the Response Moderation setting can be activated under Topic settings.
- Visit the Educator Dashboard at admin.flipgrid.com.
- Select a Grid by clicking the name.
- A list of Topics will be displayed. Use the Actions dropdown and select Edit Topic (not to be confused with editing a Grid)
- In section 1. Topic Details, toggle the Response Moderation setting to on.
This will default all new videos to be hidden (labeled as Inactive) and only visible to the educator. Existing responses will continue to be visible unless manually hidden. Educators can review the video and approve them to be visible for all students (mark them as Active), if they so choose.
The Moderation setting is all-or-none, meaning even students who submit their cannot see the video unless approved. Educators can send the student a private share link for them to view the moderated video though.
Check out more Flipgrid security and privacy settings here.