Flipgrid Privacy Features

Privacy starts with the Join Code. Every Group, Topic, and video Response has a Join Code, which defaults to random numbers and letters. This Join Code also creates a link (e.g. flipgrid.com/flipgridwelcome). As the educator, you decide who you share the Join Code or Link with. The majority of educators only share with their students. Learn more.

Permissions provides educators with the security they need. Leads select one of three different Permission types during setup and learners must log in with the correct information to open the Topic:

  1. Member Emails - Members enter the Join Code or Link and join using Microsoft or Google accounts. Only those with a Microsoft/Google email that matches the educator's approved emails can open the Topic. 
  2. Member Usernames - Members enter the Join Code or Link and input their Member Username, which is created and assigned by the educator. 
  3. Guest Password - Leads can invite family, peers, or other communities to join a Topic by entering a password once they've opened the Join Code or Link. 

Moderate videos for additional privacy. Leads can choose to moderate videos, which defaults videos to be hidden from anyone else on the Topic, and only visible to the educator. The educator can choose to make those visible or keep them hidden.

Leads own and control student content. Flipgrid will never advertise to students or share information with 3rd party marketers. At any time, educators can edit, download, and permanently delete student content. Deleting content is permanent and cannot be undone. We abide by the Student Privacy Pledge, which pledges us to “Not collect, maintain, use or share student personal information beyond that needed for authorized educational/school purposes.”

Learn more about privacy, COPPA, FERPA, GDPR, and other legal questions at legal.flipgrid.com.


Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Contact Support