Add students from Google Classroom

For educators using Google Classroom, you can sync up to 500 students from your Classroom roster with Flipgrid to grant your students direct access to Flipgrid discussions - no email domains nor usernames required! With this setting, Flipgrid will use the Google Class roster to determine who can access the group and its topics.

  1. Setting up Google Classroom
  2. Changing the Google Class for a Flipgrid Group
  3. Adding or Removing Students from the Group
  4. Accessing Flipgrid from Google Classroom
  5. Google Classroom Integration under User Profile
  6. Additional Features and Expanding into a Full Integration

Setting up Google Classroom

  1. Sign in to your account at admin.flipgrid.com
    • To add members to a new group, select +Group create-group.png
    • To add members to an existing group, select More options options.png for the group and then Edit Group
  2. Scroll down to 'Manage members' and select Google Classroom
  3. Select Sign in with Google and choose the Google account linked to your Google Classroom you'd like to sync
  4. Review the privacy prompt and select Allow to grant Flipgrid access to your Google Classroom 
  5. Once you've logged into your Google account, select a Class from the drop-down 
  6. Update or create your group

add-google-auth.JPG

You can then share the group or its topics to a Google Classroom.

Only the students in your roster can join the group and its topics, and you won't be able to grant others access via email. You can still add a guest password to individual topics for families and friends to join!

Changing the Google Class for a Flipgrid Group

You can only link one Google class to each Flipgrid group. To change the class linked to a group:

  1. Select More options options.png for the group and then Edit Group
  2. Scroll down to 'Manage members' and select Log out 
  3. Select Sign in with Google and choose the Google account linked to your Google Classroom you'd like to sync
  4. Review the privacy prompt and select Allow to grant Flipgrid access to your Google Classroom 
  5. Once you've logged into your Google account, select a Class from the drop-down 
  6. Update your group

This change will not take effect until you click Update Group to save the new Google Class.

Clicking Log out will not remove the old setting either, as the group will continue to use the Class that was last saved.

If you'd like to stop using 'Google Classroom' for a group and remove access for everyone in the Google Class, please select a different way to manage your members and then save your changes.

Adding or Removing Students from the Group

Educators can add or remove students from the Google Class roster and then sync the changes to the Flipgrid group to allow or deny those students access respectively:

  1. Edit the Class roster in Google Classroom
  2. Sign in to your account at admin.flipgrid.com
  3. Open the group associated with the Google Class where you edited the roster
  4. Click on the Members tab, and click Sync Roster to update the list of students that can access the group to the latest Google Class roster

When removing students from your class, please note this will only remove their access to your group - any videos these students had posted will remain, and their names will still show in the members list.

add-google-sync.JPG

If you don't see the 'Sync Roster' button, please go to your group settings and log in to your Google Classroom account. Furthermore, students must have accepted the invitation to join the Class or enrolled in it themselves to get access after the roster has been synced.

Accessing Flipgrid from Google Classroom

To open a group or topic with this setting, students should click Join with Google when prompted and then log in with the same Google account they use for Google Classroom. The group or topic will load and, when they're ready, they simply click Record a Response to join the discussion!

permissions-google-4.JPG 

Google Classroom Integration under User Profile

You can also integrate your Google Classroom directly from the integrations page. 

  1. Log in to your account at admin.flipgrid.com
  2. Go to the top right corner and select your profile icon
  3. Select Integrations
  4. Select Sign in with Google and choose the Google account linked to your Google Classroom you'd like to sync
  5. Review the privacy prompt and select Allow to grant Flipgrid access to your Google Classroom 
  6. Google Classroom will be available whenever you create a new group

add-google-profile.JPG

Additional Features and Expanding into a Full Integration

By using this setting, your Google Classroom roster will also be imported into the members list for the group - please see this article for details on how to use this list. Students will also be able to review and manage all their submissions at https://my.flipgrid.com/.

That said, 'Google Classroom' is not offered as a full integration right now. For example:

  • When you're reviewing Assignments, video submissions can only be opened in Flipgrid.
  • Co-teachers in the Google Class won't have access to the Flipgrid group or its topics. Instead, please add teachers as co-leads of the group to grant them access.

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Contact Support