If you no longer want to integrate a group with Canvas, you're able to disconnect the group from Canvas any time. Before you disconnect a group from Canvas, make sure you understand what happens to the assignment and group: 

  • The assignment and the ability to provide feedback through SpeedGrader no longer works for the group.
  • You cannot reconnect the Canvas assignment to the group.
  • If you continue to use the assignment, Flipgrid creates a new group and topic to connect to the assignment.
  • Any videos that were posted previously are still in the group on Flipgrid.

How to disconnect your group

Important: You can only disconnect a group from Canvas on Flipgrid on web. There currently is no way to disconnect with the Flipgrid app.

  1. Go to admin.flipgrid.com.
  2. Select the group you want to disconnect from Canvas.
  3. At the top right, click More More_box.pngDisconnect from Canvas.
  4. In the "Disconnect from Canvas" message, click Disconnect.

After you disconnect the group from Canvas, you have to set up a new way for the group's members to join and access the group.

  1. Make sure you have the recently disconnected group open.
  2. At the top right, click More More_box.png > Edit group Edit_pencil.png.
  3. Scroll and choose which member join method you want to set up. Learn more about how members can join your group
    • Important: If you choose the username join method, you aren't able to change to the Join code or link or email method. Usernames are most often used for members who don't have emails.
  4. At the bottom, click Save changes.

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Contact Support