Create groups with a shareable link

Leads can invite members to their groups with a link that can be shared with anyone or select people. You can share a link for new and existing groups. 

How to change access to your shareable link - For a new group 

Web Mobile

You can change access to your group’s shareable link when you first create it. 

  1. Go to admin.flipgrid.com. 
  2. To create a group, on the top right, click +Group. 
  3. Name your group and edit your theme. 
  4. If you like, invite members with an email or Google Classroom account.  
  5. To generate your link, click Create Group.  
  6. To share the link: 
    • On social media: Click Share blobid0.png . 
    • With a link: Click Copy link. 
    • On other platforms: At the bottom, click any of the icons. 
  7. To change your link’s permissions, under “Copy Link,” click Change. You can modify your shareable link so that: 
    • Only people you approve can join: You’ll receive a notification to approve requests to join. 
    • Anyone with the link can join: Your link can be shared so that anyone who clicks can join. 

Important: Your link is set by default so that only people you approve can join. 
 

How to change access to your shareable link - For an existing group 

Web Mobile

To change access to your existing group’s shareable link, follow these steps.  

  1. Go to admin.flipgrid.com. 
  2. Select a group. 
  3. Click Share blobid1.png. 
  4. To share the link: 
    • On social media: Tap Share blobid1.png. 
    • Anywhere you like: Click Copy link and share with anyone. 
    • On other platforms: At the bottom, click any of the icons. 
  5. To change your link’s permissions, under “Copy Link,” click Change. You can modify your shareable link so that: 
    • Only people you approve can join: You’ll receive a notification to approve requests to join. 
    • Anyone with the link can join: Your link can be shared so that anyone who clicks can join. 
       

 

How to block members from accessing your link 

You can always block specific members after they request to join or access your group. You’ll take these steps from your Activity feed blobid3.pngor the group of your choice. 

  1. Go to admin.flipgrid.com. 
  2. When someone requests to join or accesses your link, you’ll receive a notification.  
  3. Click on the notification or click on a group.  
  4. Click Member blobid4.png. 
  5. Next to a member’s name, click blobid5.png. 
  6. Click Block member.
     

How members receive request to join with a link 

Depending on your link's access permissions, members will access your groups differently. 

Only people you approve can join 

  1. Member will click the link or enter the join code included at the end of the link. 
  2. Once logged in, they’ll click Send Request. 
  3. You’ll receive a notification to Add or Decline their request. 

Anyone with the link can join 

Members can access your group immediately after they sign in to Flipgrid. 


Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Contact Support